Los Angeles County sets curfew starting Friday Nov 19,2020 | 10 p.m.


On Thursday, November 19th, Governor Newsom announced that a mandatory stay at home order would be enacted, starting Friday. This curfew would be from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. However, in light of new record breaking, covid-19 cases surging, rising hospitalizations, and the holidays nearing, the stay at home order could potentially be pushed forward to this upcoming Sunday according to The Guardian.

Since the pandemic began, we haven’t seen cases as high as those reported on Thursday. There were 13,442 new cases according to the Los Angeles Times.

The effect of this lockdown on Los Angeles County and other purple tier counties includes: nonessential retail businesses in the county will have to limit indoor capacity to 25%, restaurants will limit to 50 % capacity outdoors, and all businesses must close at 10 p.m. This curfew will not apply to essential workers and healthcare employees.

Purple tier counties according to The Sacramento Bee are “where coronavirus transmission rates are highest. The vast majority of California counties are currently in that tier. It will be in effect for a month, from Nov. 21 through Dec. 21.”

Image courtesy of Mercury News

The image above shows all purple tier counties which is as follows:
Siskiyou, Trinity, Shasta, Tehama, Mendocino, Glenn, Butte, Sutter, Yuba, Nevada, Placer, El Dorado, Sacramento, Yolo, Solano, Napa, Sonoma, Contra Costa, Alameda, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne, Merced, Madera, San Benito, Monterey, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura, Los Angeles, Orange, San Bernardino, Riverside, San Diego, and Imperial according to Mercury News